Buying Guides

Best 10 USB Hubs for Flexible Desk and Travel Setups in 2026

Compare USB hubs for laptops, desktops, card readers, charging, and extra ports, with options for travel and larger device collections.

This article contains affiliate links. We may earn a commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you.

The best USB hubs depend on which connections your computer lacks, whether you need charging or display output, and how many peripherals you use. These picks range from compact USB-C adapters to powered multiport hubs, so match the ports and host compatibility to your setup.

Quick Top Products

Storage and Display Expansion

SABRENT USB-C Hub & SSD Enclosure (HB-6PNV)

SABRENT USB-C Hub & SSD Enclosure (HB-6PNV)
  • Adds three USB-A ports, HDMI, Gigabit Ethernet, and an M.2 SSD slot.
  • Supports HDMI output up to 4K at 60Hz on compatible USB-C devices.
  • Provides up to 90W bypass charging and supports SATA or NVMe M.2 SSDs.

Best For: Laptop users who want display, wired networking, and expandable SSD storage in one USB-C dock.

Fast USB-C Data and 4K Display

SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub (HB-TG5P)

SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub (HB-TG5P)
  • Has two USB-A and two USB-C data ports rated at 10Gbps.
  • Outputs up to 4K at 60Hz with HDR10 and Dolby Vision support.
  • Passes up to 80W to a laptop from a 100W USB-C PD charger.

Best For: Laptop and tablet users who need several 10Gbps ports, 4K display output, and pass-through charging.

Card Reader, Audio, and Display Combo

j5create USB-C 7-in-1 Hub (JCD373EC)

j5create USB-C 7-in-1 Hub (JCD373EC)
  • Combines two 5Gbps USB-A ports, HDMI, PD, SD and microSD, and audio.
  • Supports HDMI resolution up to 4K at 30Hz.
  • Provides a USB-C PD port rated at 100W.

Best For: USB-C laptop owners who want HDMI, SD and microSD readers, audio, and charging through one adapter.

Compact 4K HDMI and Charging

SABRENT USB-C Multi-Port Hub (HB-SHPU)

SABRENT USB-C Multi-Port Hub (HB-SHPU)
  • Includes three USB-A ports with one 5Gbps port and two USB 2.0 ports.
  • Supports HDMI output up to 4K at 60Hz on compatible hosts.
  • Provides up to 90W USB-C PD3.0 pass-through charging.

Best For: Traveling laptop users who need HDMI, three USB-A ports, and USB-C pass-through charging.

Straightforward HDMI and USB-A Expansion

SABRENT USB-C Hub (HB-TC5P)

SABRENT USB-C Hub (HB-TC5P)
  • Adds HDMI output and three USB-A ports.
  • Supports HDMI up to 4K at 60Hz on a DP Alt Mode host.
  • Includes one 5Gbps USB-A port and two 480Mbps USB-A ports.

Best For: USB-C laptop users who need an HDMI display, USB-A peripherals, and PD pass-through in a small adapter.

Powered USB-A Hub with Dedicated Charging

SABRENT 10-Port Powered USB 3.0 Hub (HB-B7C3)

SABRENT 10-Port Powered USB 3.0 Hub (HB-B7C3)
  • Supports up to seven USB 3.0 data devices and includes three charging ports.
  • Each charging port delivers up to 2.4A.
  • Includes a 60W 12V/5A power adapter and port-level switches.

Best For: Desktop users connecting several USB-A devices who also want separate ports for charging handheld devices.

Individual Switches for Four USB 3.0 Devices

SABRENT 4-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-UM43)

SABRENT 4-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-UM43)
  • Adds four USB 3.0 ports with individual switches and LED indicators.
  • Includes a two-foot cable for flexible placement.
  • Supports transfer speeds up to 5Gbps and requires no driver.

Best For: Users who want four USB-A data ports with individual controls and a longer cable for desk placement.

Switched USB-A and USB-C Ports

SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub (HB-3A4C)

SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub (HB-3A4C)
  • Includes three USB-A and four USB-C ports, each rated at 5Gbps.
  • Provides individual power switches and white LED indicators.
  • Includes a 48W adapter and one USB-C port supports up to 20W PD.

Best For: Users with mixed USB-A and USB-C peripherals who want port-level power control on a powered hub.

Ten USB 3.0 Ports with Individual Controls

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-BU10)

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-BU10)
  • Adds ten USB 3.0 ports rated up to 5Gbps.
  • Each port has an individual switch and blue LED.
  • Includes a 60W 12V/5A power adapter.

Best For: A desk setup with many USB 3.0 peripherals that benefits from individual port switches and status lights.

Large-Capacity USB-A Expansion

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)
  • Provides sixteen USB 3.0 ports with transfer speeds up to 5Gbps.
  • Supports USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 devices as well.
  • Includes blue LED power-status indicators for each port.

Best For: A workstation that needs a high number of USB-A connections for drives, readers, and other peripherals.

Storage and Display Expansion

SABRENT USB-C Hub & SSD Enclosure, 6-Port Dock with M.2 SSD Slot, 90W Power Delivery, USB 3.0 & 2.0 Ports, 4K HDMI, RJ45 Gigabit Ethernet (HB-6PNV)

SABRENT USB-C Hub & SSD Enclosure (HB-6PNV)
Check Price on Amazon

The SABRENT HB-6PNV combines everyday port expansion with features that are less common on compact USB-C hubs. It connects through an integrated USB-C cable and includes three USB-A ports, HDMI output, Gigabit Ethernet, and an internal M.2 slot for either SATA or NVMe storage.

The HDMI port supports up to 4K at 60Hz on a host with DisplayPort Alternate Mode. Up to 90W power delivery is available for bypass charging.

Its mix suits a laptop desk or travel kit, but the M.2 drive is not included, and one USB-A port is USB 2.0 rather than a faster data port.

Best For: Laptop users who want display, wired networking, and expandable SSD storage in one USB-C dock.

Pros Cons
  • Combines wired networking, external display output, and expandable storage.
  • Supports up to 90W bypass charging.
  • Works with Windows, macOS, and Linux systems.
  • One USB-A port is USB 2.0, while the other two support faster data transfer.
  • Not specified: whether an M.2 SSD is included.

Choose this hub if your USB-C laptop needs several kinds of expansion at once, especially Ethernet and an internal M.2 drive bay. Its port mix has broader desk utility than a basic USB-A hub, but only two USB-A ports are listed at 5Gbps and the SSD is separate.

Confirm your host supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode for HDMI and verify the M.2 form factor before choosing a drive.

Check Price on Amazon

Fast USB-C Data and 4K Display

SABRENT USB C Hub 5-in-1, 10Gbps USB-A & USB-C Ports, Single 4K@60Hz HDMI, 100W PD Input, 80W Laptop Charging, Compact Aluminum Docking Station for MacBook, iPad, Laptops & Tablets (HB-TG5P)

SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub (HB-TG5P)
Check Price on Amazon

This five-port SABRENT hub focuses on fast connections for a USB-C laptop or tablet. It provides two USB-A and two USB-C data ports rated at 10Gbps, plus a dedicated USB-C PD input.

HDMI output supports up to 4K at 60Hz with HDR10, Dolby Vision, and HDCP 2.3, provided the host supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode. A 100W charger can pass up to 80W to the laptop, but the power adapter is not included.

The integrated 60cm cable and aluminum housing suit a tidy desk or travel bag. Check host video support and charging needs before buying.

Best For: Laptop and tablet users who need several 10Gbps ports, 4K display output, and pass-through charging.

Pros Cons
  • Offers four high-speed data ports across USB-A and USB-C.
  • Includes HDMI output with HDR10 and Dolby Vision support.
  • Uses a 60cm integrated cable and passive aluminum cooling.
  • The hub does not include the 100W power adapter needed for pass-through charging.
  • Extended desktop mode requires host MST support.

This is a strong fit when fast USB-C storage and a high-refresh 4K display matter more than card readers or Ethernet. It gives four 10Gbps data ports, whereas many basic hubs reserve some connections for slower peripherals.

Budget for a compatible 100W charger if you want pass-through power, and check whether your device supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode and MST for the display arrangement you want.

Check Price on Amazon

Card Reader, Audio, and Display Combo

j5create USB-C Multi-Port Hub with Power Delivery with 4K HDMI/2 USB-A 5Gbps/PD 100W Charging SD&Micro SD/3.5mm Audio | for MacBook Pro&Air/iPad Pro/iMac/Surface/XPS/Thinkpad/Galaxy/and More(JCD373EC)

j5create USB-C 7-in-1 Hub (JCD373EC)
Check Price on Amazon

The j5create JCD373EC combines seven connections aimed at a laptop work or travel setup. It has two 5Gbps USB-A data ports, HDMI supporting up to 4K at 30Hz, a 100W USB-C PD port, an SD and microSD reader, and a 3.5mm audio jack.

That assortment covers common display, removable-media, peripheral, and headphone needs without adding separate adapters. Its 4K output is limited to 30Hz, so users prioritizing a smoother high-resolution display may prefer a hub with a higher refresh rate.

Check the host USB-C capabilities for charging and video before purchase.

Best For: USB-C laptop owners who want HDMI, SD and microSD readers, audio, and charging through one adapter.

Pros Cons
  • Includes both SD and microSD card readers alongside audio and HDMI.
  • Has two USB-A ports rated at 5Gbps.
  • Supports plug-and-play use with a broad range of devices.
  • HDMI output tops out at 4K at 30Hz.
  • Not specified: whether a power adapter is included for 100W PD charging.

Pick the JCD373EC if card transfers and a headphone connection are as important as adding USB-A ports. Its combination is more specialized than a hub built around many fast peripheral ports, and its HDMI ceiling is 4K at 30Hz.

Compare the display requirement with your monitor and laptop, then confirm the host supports USB-C charging and video output before relying on those functions.

Check Price on Amazon

Compact 4K HDMI and Charging

SABRENT Multi-Port USB-C Hub with Power Delivery, HDMI Out, 3 USB A Ports, 4K@60Hz, 90W PD, Aluminum [HB-SHPU]

SABRENT USB-C Multi-Port Hub (HB-SHPU)
Check Price on Amazon

The SABRENT HB-SHPU is a compact USB-C adapter for connecting common peripherals while charging and using an external display. It has three USB-A ports: one supports data transfer up to 5Gbps and two support up to 480Mbps.

HDMI output reaches up to 4K at 60Hz when the host supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode, and USB-C PD3.0 supports up to 90W. The integrated 15cm cable and aluminum casing are suited to travel or a cleaner laptop setup.

The supplied facts do not identify an included power adapter, so plan to use a compatible charger and verify your laptop's USB-C video support.

Best For: Traveling laptop users who need HDMI, three USB-A ports, and USB-C pass-through charging.

Pros Cons
  • Pairs high-resolution HDMI output with up to 90W PD.
  • Uses an integrated 15cm cable and lightweight aluminum casing.
  • Includes three USB-A ports for peripherals and storage.
  • Only one USB-A port is specified at 5Gbps; the other two are USB 2.0.
  • Not specified: whether a USB-C power adapter is included.

The HB-SHPU fits a compact work bag when HDMI and laptop charging are priorities, with three USB-A connections for everyday peripherals. Its USB-A speeds are uneven: only one port is rated at 5Gbps, so frequent transfers from multiple fast drives may call for a different hub.

Make sure the laptop supports DisplayPort Alternate Mode and account for a separate charger if you do not already have one.

Check Price on Amazon

Straightforward HDMI and USB-A Expansion

SABRENT USB C Hub, USB C to HDMI 4K@60Hz, Type C Hub Multiport Adapter, 100W Power Delivery, Compatible with MacBook, Laptop (HB-TC5P)

SABRENT USB-C Hub (HB-TC5P)
Check Price on Amazon

This SABRENT adapter brings HDMI output, three USB-A ports, and USB-C PD input to a compatible laptop or tablet. The HDMI 2.0 connection supports up to 4K at 60Hz, while the USB-A ports are split between one 5Gbps USB 3.0 connection and two 480Mbps USB 2.0 connections.

The aluminum shell and integrated cable suit everyday desk use or travel. It is a practical choice when the main goal is to connect a display and basic peripherals, though it has no card reader or Ethernet.

Video and charging depend on the host's USB-C port capabilities, so check compatibility first.

Best For: USB-C laptop users who need an HDMI display, USB-A peripherals, and PD pass-through in a small adapter.

Pros Cons
  • Combines display output, pass-through charging, and USB-A expansion.
  • Supports up to 4K at 60Hz output.
  • Has an aluminum shell and integrated USB-C cable.
  • Two of the USB-A ports are USB 2.0 and limited to 480Mbps.
  • Requires a host USB-C connection with DisplayPort Alternate Mode for HDMI.

Choose the HB-TC5P when you want an uncomplicated laptop adapter for a monitor, keyboard, mouse, and charging. It shares the 4K-at-60Hz display capability found on more elaborate hubs, but provides only one fast USB-A port and no card reader or network port.

Check that your computer's USB-C port supports video and charging, since the hub cannot add those host capabilities.

Check Price on Amazon

Powered USB-A Hub with Dedicated Charging

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub, Individual Power Switches and LEDs, 3 Smart Charging Ports, 60W Power Adapter, for PC, Mac, Xbox, PS5, Laptop, Desktop, USB Devices (HB-B7C3)

SABRENT 10-Port Powered USB 3.0 Hub (HB-B7C3)
Check Price on Amazon

The SABRENT HB-B7C3 separates computer data connections from dedicated charging. It supports up to seven USB 3.0 devices at once, with transfer speeds up to 5Gbps, and adds three smart charging ports rated up to 2.4A per port.

A 60W, 12V/5A power adapter is included to power the hub. Each port has an individual power switch and LED indicator, which helps manage connected devices from a desk.

This larger powered hub is better suited to a stationary setup than a compact laptop adapter. Check whether your devices use USB-A and whether seven data connections cover your needs.

Best For: Desktop users connecting several USB-A devices who also want separate ports for charging handheld devices.

Pros Cons
  • Provides seven USB 3.0 data connections rated up to 5Gbps.
  • Separates three smart charging ports from the data ports.
  • Includes a 60W adapter and individual port controls.
  • The data side supports up to seven devices; the other three ports are described as charging ports.
  • Not specified: the total physical dimensions for desk placement.

This powered model suits a desk with several drives or peripherals plus phones and tablets that need dedicated charging connections. Its seven computer-connected data ports and three charging ports serve different roles, so count devices by function rather than assuming all ten are equivalent data ports.

Check the adapter's placement and your available USB-A host connection, especially if you are fitting it into a crowded workspace.

Check Price on Amazon

Individual Switches for Four USB 3.0 Devices

SABRENT 4-Port USB 3.0 Hub with Individual LED Power Switches - Slim, Portable Design - 2 Ft Cable - Fast Data Transfer - Compatible with Mac & PC (HB-UM43)

SABRENT 4-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-UM43)
Check Price on Amazon

The SABRENT HB-UM43 adds four USB 3.0 ports and gives each one a separate on/off switch with an LED status indicator. Its two-foot cable can help bring the connections within reach when the computer's ports are awkwardly placed.

The hub supports data transfer up to 5Gbps and is plug-and-play, with no driver installation required. It does not support charging, so it is intended for connecting peripherals and storage rather than powering a phone or tablet.

The individual switches are useful when you want to disconnect devices without unplugging them, but this is a USB-A hub and may require an adapter for a USB-C-only host.

Best For: Users who want four USB-A data ports with individual controls and a longer cable for desk placement.

Pros Cons
  • Provides separate power switches and status LEDs for each port.
  • The two-foot cable allows flexible placement.
  • Supports plug-and-play and hot-swappable use.
  • Does not support charging.

Pick the HB-UM43 when individual port control and a longer reach matter more than charging or USB-C connectivity. It is a simple four-port data hub, with faster USB 3.0 connections than the USB 2.0 alternatives.

Because it does not support charging, keep a separate charger for phones and tablets. If your computer has only USB-C ports, check whether you have the required USB adapter.

Check Price on Amazon

Switched USB-A and USB-C Ports

SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub, 48W Powered, 5Gbps, 3 USB-A + 4 USB-C (HB-3A4C) | 20W PD; LED status; aluminum body; power switches; for Mac, PC, Steam Deck, ROG Ally

SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub (HB-3A4C)
Check Price on Amazon

The SABRENT HB-3A4C offers seven downstream connections split between three USB-A and four USB-C ports, all rated at 5Gbps. Each port has a dedicated on/off switch and white LED indicator.

The hub includes a 48W power adapter; three USB-C ports deliver 5V/900mA, while a fourth supports up to 20W PD for a higher-demand accessory or device. Its aluminum housing is designed to dissipate heat, and it works with Windows, macOS, Linux, and most USB-C hosts.

This is a desk-oriented expansion option; confirm which USB-C port provides PD and whether its power profile suits the device you plan to connect.

Best For: Users with mixed USB-A and USB-C peripherals who want port-level power control on a powered hub.

Pros Cons
  • Mixes USB-A and USB-C connections on one hub.
  • Offers individual controls for each port.
  • Includes a 48W power adapter and aluminum housing.
  • Only one of the four USB-C ports is specified to support PD; the other three provide 5V/900mA.

Choose this hub if your desk peripherals use a mix of USB-A and USB-C and you want independent control over each connection. It has more port-type variety than a traditional USB-A hub, but the charging behavior differs by USB-C port: only one supports up to 20W PD.

Identify the port that provides the power you need and confirm compatibility with your USB-C host before connecting higher-demand devices.

Check Price on Amazon

Ten USB 3.0 Ports with Individual Controls

SABRENT 10-Port 60W USB 3.0 Hub with Individual Power Switches and LEDs, Includes 60W 12V/5A Power Adapter (HB-BU10)

SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-BU10)
Check Price on Amazon

The SABRENT HB-BU10 expands a computer setup with ten USB 3.0 ports, rated for data transfer speeds up to 5Gbps. Individual power switches and blue LEDs provide per-port control and status, while plug-and-play operation avoids driver installation.

It includes a 60W, 12V/5A power adapter, making it a powered option for a desk with many connected USB devices. Its ten-port footprint and external adapter need a suitable place near the computer.

Best For: A desk setup with many USB 3.0 peripherals that benefits from individual port switches and status lights.

Pros Cons
  • Provides ten USB 3.0 connections for a larger peripheral setup.
  • Has per-port switches and blue status LEDs.
  • Supports plug-and-play operation without driver installation.
  • Not specified: whether any ports provide dedicated device charging.
  • Not specified: physical dimensions for arranging the hub on a desk.

Consider the HB-BU10 for a workspace that needs more than a handful of USB-A connections and benefits from switching devices off individually. It gives ten USB 3.0 ports and includes an external power adapter, but the available details do not distinguish charging ports from data ports.

Check the intended use for phones or tablets before treating it as a charger, and make room for the hub and adapter on the desk.

Check Price on Amazon

Large-Capacity USB-A Expansion

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Data Hub and Charger with Individual Power Switches, 90W High-Power Output (HB-PU16)

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)
Check Price on Amazon

The SABRENT HB-PU16 provides sixteen downstream USB 3.0 ports for a workstation with many USB-A peripherals. It supports transfer rates up to 5Gbps and is compatible with USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 devices.

Blue LEDs indicate the power status of each port, and the hub supports plug-and-play, hot-swappable use. The product is described as a data hub and charger, with ports usable for accessing or charging connected peripherals, but the supplied details do not give per-port charging output.

Its size and power arrangements are not specified here, so confirm desk space and the intended charging needs before choosing this high-capacity option.

Best For: A workstation that needs a high number of USB-A connections for drives, readers, and other peripherals.

Pros Cons
  • Offers sixteen downstream connections for a large peripheral collection.
  • Supports up to 5Gbps USB 3.0 transfers.
  • Supports plug-and-play and hot-swappable use.
  • Not specified: per-port charging output or charging limits.
  • Not specified: physical dimensions and included power-adapter details.

The HB-PU16 is aimed at a workstation where the number of available USB-A connections is the central requirement. It provides more downstream ports than the other selected hubs, though the supplied details do not explain charging output per port or the adapter arrangement.

Check those points if you plan to power devices as well as connect them, and confirm there is a practical place for a sixteen-port hub.

Check Price on Amazon

How to Choose Usb Hubs

How We Picked USB Hubs

We selected hubs that solve distinct expansion needs: adding USB-A or USB-C connections, supporting displays, passing through laptop power, reading memory cards, or serving a desk full of devices. The products span simple four-port data hubs, USB-C laptop adapters, and larger powered hubs.

Models with nearly identical roles were left out when another candidate offered a clearer use case or more relevant features.

Host connection and intended devices matter as much as port count. A USB-C hub may depend on DisplayPort Alternate Mode for HDMI, while a traditional USB-A hub cannot add video output.

For desk setups, a powered hub with switches can manage multiple peripherals; for travel, a compact adapter with integrated cable can reduce the number of separate accessories.

Comparing USB Hubs

The USB-C laptop adapters differ mainly in how they balance display, speed, and other connections. The SABRENT HB-6PNV adds Ethernet and an M.2 slot, while the HB-TG5P emphasizes four 10Gbps data ports and 4K at 60Hz.

The j5create JCD373EC adds SD and microSD readers plus a headphone jack, but its HDMI output is limited to 4K at 30Hz. The HB-SHPU and HB-TC5P pair 4K at 60Hz HDMI with three USB-A ports, with one faster USB-A port in each.

Desktop USB hubs prioritize connection count, power, and control. The HB-B7C3 separates seven data ports from three charging ports and includes a 60W adapter.

The HB-BU10 offers ten USB 3.0 ports and individual switches, while the HB-PU16 supplies sixteen downstream ports but does not specify per-port charging output. The HB-UM43 is the smaller four-port choice with individual switches, and the HB-3A4C is the mixed USB-A and USB-C option with per-port controls.

ProductStandout featuresBest for
SABRENT USB-C Hub & SSD Enclosure (HB-6PNV)Check Price
  • Adds three USB-A ports, HDMI, Gigabit Ethernet, and an M.2 SSD slot.
  • Supports HDMI output up to 4K at 60Hz on compatible USB-C devices.
Laptop users who want display, wired networking, and expandable SSD storage in one USB-C dock.
SABRENT 5-in-1 USB-C Hub (HB-TG5P)Check Price
  • Has two USB-A and two USB-C data ports rated at 10Gbps.
  • Outputs up to 4K at 60Hz with HDR10 and Dolby Vision support.
Laptop and tablet users who need several 10Gbps ports, 4K display output, and pass-through charging.
j5create USB-C 7-in-1 Hub (JCD373EC)Check Price
  • Combines two 5Gbps USB-A ports, HDMI, PD, SD and microSD, and audio.
  • Supports HDMI resolution up to 4K at 30Hz.
USB-C laptop owners who want HDMI, SD and microSD readers, audio, and charging through one adapter.
SABRENT USB-C Multi-Port Hub (HB-SHPU)Check Price
  • Includes three USB-A ports with one 5Gbps port and two USB 2.0 ports.
  • Supports HDMI output up to 4K at 60Hz on compatible hosts.
Traveling laptop users who need HDMI, three USB-A ports, and USB-C pass-through charging.
SABRENT USB-C Hub (HB-TC5P)Check Price
  • Adds HDMI output and three USB-A ports.
  • Supports HDMI up to 4K at 60Hz on a DP Alt Mode host.
USB-C laptop users who need an HDMI display, USB-A peripherals, and PD pass-through in a small adapter.
SABRENT 10-Port Powered USB 3.0 Hub (HB-B7C3)Check Price
  • Supports up to seven USB 3.0 data devices and includes three charging ports.
  • Each charging port delivers up to 2.4A.
Desktop users connecting several USB-A devices who also want separate ports for charging handheld devices.
SABRENT 4-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-UM43)Check Price
  • Adds four USB 3.0 ports with individual switches and LED indicators.
  • Includes a two-foot cable for flexible placement.
Users who want four USB-A data ports with individual controls and a longer cable for desk placement.
SABRENT 7-Port USB-C Hub (HB-3A4C)Check Price
  • Includes three USB-A and four USB-C ports, each rated at 5Gbps.
  • Provides individual power switches and white LED indicators.
Users with mixed USB-A and USB-C peripherals who want port-level power control on a powered hub.
SABRENT 10-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-BU10)Check Price
  • Adds ten USB 3.0 ports rated up to 5Gbps.
  • Each port has an individual switch and blue LED.
A desk setup with many USB 3.0 peripherals that benefits from individual port switches and status lights.
SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)Check Price
  • Provides sixteen USB 3.0 ports with transfer speeds up to 5Gbps.
  • Supports USB 2.0 and USB 1.1 devices as well.
A workstation that needs a high number of USB-A connections for drives, readers, and other peripherals.

Choosing USB-C Hubs for a Laptop

First identify which USB-C features your computer supports. HDMI output requires compatible video support; the included adapters specify DisplayPort Alternate Mode, so a USB-C connector alone does not guarantee an external display will work.

For charging, compare the hub's pass-through rating with your charger and laptop needs. The HB-TG5P can pass up to 80W from a 100W charger, while the HB-SHPU supports up to 90W PD and the j5create hub has a 100W PD port.

Count fast data ports separately from total port count. The HB-TG5P has four USB-A and USB-C data ports rated at 10Gbps.

By contrast, the HB-SHPU and HB-TC5P each include two USB 2.0 ports alongside one 5Gbps USB-A port. If you often transfer files from cards, the j5create includes SD and microSD slots; if wired networking or onboard storage matters, the HB-6PNV adds Ethernet and an M.2 slot.

Powered USB Hubs for a Desk Setup

A powered USB hub is useful when multiple peripherals remain connected at a workstation. Consider how many ports handle computer data, how many are dedicated to charging, and whether each port can be switched individually.

The HB-B7C3 clearly separates seven data ports from three charging ports, while the HB-BU10 and HB-PU16 focus on larger USB 3.0 port counts. Their supplied details do not give the same charging-port breakdown, so check the intended device requirements before relying on them to charge phones or tablets.

Port switches can help when a device does not need to stay connected all day. The HB-UM43 and HB-BU10 specify individual switches and LEDs, and the HB-3A4C provides controls across its mixed USB-A and USB-C ports.

For a larger collection of drives, readers, and peripherals, the HB-PU16's sixteen downstream ports reduce the need for multiple small hubs, but the available details leave its physical dimensions and power arrangement unclear.

Who Should Buy Which USB Hub?

For a USB-C laptop used at a desk and on the road, choose among the HB-TG5P, HB-SHPU, HB-TC5P, and j5create based on fast data ports, charging, card readers, and audio. Pick the HB-6PNV if you also want Gigabit Ethernet and an M.2 SSD slot.

For many desktop peripherals plus device charging, the HB-B7C3 has the clearest division between data and charging ports.

For individual control over four USB-A peripherals, the HB-UM43 is a direct fit. Choose the HB-3A4C when your desk accessories use both USB-A and USB-C.

If the priority is simply capacity, the HB-BU10 offers ten USB 3.0 ports and the HB-PU16 provides sixteen; check charging output, desk space, and adapter needs before settling on either larger hub.

Written by

mosoconf.com Editorial Team

Editorial team

mosoconf.com publishes practical how-to guides and educational articles with clear steps and useful context.

Best overall

In a hurry?

Start with this pick, then check Amazon for available deals.

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)

SABRENT 16-Port USB 3.0 Hub (HB-PU16)

4.5/51,000+ ratingsRead Amazon Reviews ↗

Best for: A workstation that needs a high number of USB-A connections for drives, readers, and other peripherals.

Check for deals on Amazon